Cool Kid Wannabe

I don’t know if the the word “cool” is still cool nowadays, but that’s the word I used in high school to describe what I wanted to be. Confession time. I wasn’t a cool kid in high school. Not even close. It wasn’t for a lack of trying. The trendy jeans, the expensive shoes, the popular music, I tried it all. To be clear, I wasn’t a dweeb either (at least I hope not). Thankfully, I had a group of friends in high school who didn’t care nearly as much about being “cool” as they did having fun. (Side note: I was a cool kid at the church youth group, my van was always the cool van 🙂 but that’s not the same).

So, since high school is back in full force, I’d like to share a couple of my high school insights, lessons and thoughts from a high school cool kid wannabe.

  • Cool people don’t try. They just are.
  • Cool isn’t something you can “crown” yourself, it’s given by other people.
  • If you have to try, it’s likely that you aren’t cool, and even more likely that people think you’re a poser.
  • Cool in terms of attention is overrated.
  • Fun is underrated. Need more fun.
  • The coolest people don’t realize that they’re cool.
  • Being selfish is definitely not cool.
  • If you only treat people you like with love and respect you’re not cool.
  • Laughing AT people is not cool. Laughing WITH people is.
  • Cool people focus on others, not themselves.
  • Trying to impress people with your possessions isn’t cool. It does the opposite

The Bible’s counterparts for the modern word “cool” are the words “favored and accepted.” Who doesn’t want to be favored, accepted and popular? Matthew 23:12 says that those who humble themselves will be exalted. You really want to be cool? Here’s how.

  1. Stand up for what’s right and don’t care to stand alone.
  2. Reach out to those who everyone else ignores.
  3. Be yourself.
  4. Put God first.
  5. Stop caring about being cool and just have fun.

Your’e not cool because of anything you wear, or because you attend the “hip” church in town, or because you listen to the trendy genre of music, or because you have the new something that everyone else wants. You’re cool because God created you uniquely, He’s given you confidence, acceptance and favor and He wants you to use that influence to make the most of your life.

One thought on “Cool Kid Wannabe

  1. That’s a good point of view. I will admit that I was never the “cool” kid, as well. As a matter of fact, I’d say that I was the nerdiest of the nerds (and a loner!). I played the flute and studied very hard throughout high school. Oh well…I ended up taking a hard-core science program in university, where only about 50% of the students end up graduating from the program I’m taking.

Leave a Reply

