Ripping Off the Band-Aid

Gross-Out Alert: For the past two months I’ve had problems with severe dry and cracked skin on my left thumb to the point it would bleed. I’m not a sissy (my wife may disagree), but when my fingers bleed I strategically place a band-aid there so it doesn’t worsen. By nature I’m a nail-biter and a skin picker so when I see loose skin it drives me nuts.

Anyways.

I’ve wore these stupid band-aids for almost two months until finally I noticed this past week that my thumb is beginning to heal properly. I knew the dreaded moment was coming. It was time to rip off the band-aid. By far the worst part of wearing a band-aid is knowing at some point you have to rip it off. OUCH!

Here’s the truth. Often, the anticipation and fear of the pain is worse than the act itself.

Dread is a terrible, terrible thing. It leads to delay, procrastination, distress, worry and many times it results in the issue going unresolved. It only gets worse.

Early on in ministry when I would dread a necessary but difficult conversation with someone, I would just put it off. It only made things worse and allowed situations to decline or even get out of hand. I made a commitment to “rip off the band-aid” even when I knew it would hurt.

What about you? Are there some difficult issues, conversations or changes that need to take place? Be brave and Rip off that band-aid!

The Lord is my Light and my Salvation–whom shall I fear or dread? The Lord is the Refuge and Stronghold of my life–of whom shall I be afraid?
Psalm 27:1

Leave a Reply

