Stop Whining and Go to God

Here’s something I’ve noticed about myself that I don’t mind sharing with you. I don’t know why I do this, but when there’s a crisis in my life (large and small) instead of going to God first, I go to my wife/parents/friends/etc. It’s not a bad thing that I have close, trusted people in my life that I can go to for support. The problem lies in the deep dark places of my heart, where in reality I’m not always looking for support. If I’m being honest, sometimes I don’t want their help.

I want their sympathy.

Honestly, I know that it’s very likely they don’t have the answer to my question. They don’t have the solution to my problem. What I do know is that for a brief moment, I’ll hopefully get some emotionally feeding sympathy that will allow me to pretend my problems will magically disappear. I know that they won’t. I need to stop whining and just go to God. So do you.

The truth: The One source where I need must/should go, the One who has my answer, the One who has my solution, is God. Not only does He have my solution, He is my solution. God is confident in me. God isn’t mad at me. At least not in the “road rage” sense. He knows that I screwed up. He knows that I’m far from perfect. He knows that it’s a good chance I screw up again. Yet He still forgives and empowers me to move forward.

I’m thankful that God forgives my past, but I’m also thankful that God doesn’t restrict/filter His Love-Grace-Power-Forgiveness-Blessing based on my imperfect future.

“And God will generously provide all you need. Then you will always have everything you need and plenty left over to share with others.”
2 Corinthians 9:8

“Oh, what joy for those whose disobedience is forgiven, whose sin is put out of sight! Yes, what joy for those whose record the Lord has cleared of guilt, whose lives are lived in complete honesty!”
Psalm 32:1-2

Leave a Reply

