I Got Fired

The year was 1992 and I was only 14 years old. It was a summer job, working at the church with my dad. For some reason I was assigned to work with the maintenance and yard crew. (We all know how much I love yard work…barf.) Anyways. So there were two specific instances that got me fired (by my dad).

1. My job was to paint the base of the parking lot poles “parking stripe yellow.” By the time I finished painting them, it was like a color war took place on the parking lot. Dad was NOT pleased.

2. I was asked to help coat the roof of the building with a weather proofing chemical. (Why would they trust me to do that after the parking lot incident? I asked myself that same question.) Long story short. It was hot, I took an extended break, my “superviser” took a minute to check my progress and I was totally napping, catching some rays and working on my tan…

Boom. Fired. Dad was not pleased. That summer I learned the hard way what it takes to keep a job and the good news is I haven’t been fired since. 🙂

Here are 4 kinds of people who get constantly fired.

1. People who can’t take correction. Instead of being humble, teachable and making the appropriate changes, they stay in pride and refuse to listen.

2. People who aren’t team players. You can have all the talent in the world, be a faithful worker, but if you cause strife, allow jealousy and aren’t a team player then you’ve got issues.

3. People who refuse to grow. When you settle and accept mediocrity and refuse to pay the price to improve. Eventually you get passed up.

4. People who lie. No matter how “awesome-sauce” you are at work, if you can’t be trusted you won’t make it.

“Whatever you do, work at it with all your heart, as working for the Lord, not for men,”
Colossians 3:23


Leave a Reply

