4 Ways God Gives Direction

One thing you and I can count on in life, is that we never ever stop searching. Life is all about making the right choices, learning from wrong decisions and all of us in some way or another are looking for direction in life. We have questions, we need answers.

  • What should I do?
  • How should I respond?
  • Should I stay?
  • Should I go?
  • Should I quit?
  • Should I start?
  • Is she the one for me?
  • Pepperoni or Sausage?

Google has really spoiled us when it comes to searching for quick answers. When I have a question about anything, I can Google it. The other day I Google’d building a deck and just seconds later about a dozen how-to videos are on my screen. (Side note – after watching these videos I will NOT be building my own deck.)

When we have serious questions in life, we generally don’t like waiting long for the answers. Keep in mind that God wants to give you direction. He doesn’t want us lost or confused. The direction of God isn’t as hard to come by as we make it out to be. Patience is key and here are 4 ways He will give you direction.

1. Through His Word (The Bible): The most practical way that God gives us direction is through His Word! It’s also important to remember that everything else HAS to line up with God’s Word.

2. Peace: This is how God will lead you. The best way I can describe this in my life is this way: It feels like a calm reassurance down in my gut. It’s a knowing deep down that this is right. Sometimes it’s not a huge feeling, but I’ve learned to recognize it in my life. It let’s me know I’m headed the right direction.

3. People: We have pastors, teachers, friends, parents and people in our life that God has placed there to help us. God will use these people to speak into us. Just remember to keep the circle of trust small. Don’t share your deep dark secrets with people you cannot absolutely trust. The people who God has strategically placed in your life, those are the ones you can trust.

4. Desires: Simply, what do you want to do? God places desires in our heart to give us direction in life. If the desires you have will help reach people, inspire greatness, lead people to Jesus, improve life, then it’s a VERY good chance it’s God given! Do you enjoy building, helping others, making videos, working with kids? Then pursue it!

Here is a simple confession/prayer for you to pray: “Lord, my ears hear Your Word telling me, This is the way, walk in it, when I turn to the right hand and when I turn to the left.”

Isaiah 30:21 – Whether you turn to the right or to the left, your ears will hear a voice behind you, saying, “This is the way; walk in it.”

Leave a Reply

