We Left Our Kids at Home

Meg and I took a vacation together last week to a sweet cabin located on a mountaintop in Tennessee and we LEFT OUR KIDS AT HOME! Of course they weren’t alone (thank you grandparents!), but they definitely weren’t with us. We took this time to be alone together. I can’t say enough what a great time I had spending with just my wife! She’s my love, my best friend and taking a week to be with only her was the best thing I’ve done all year.

“Well don’t you love your kids too!?” I love my kids very much! There will be plenty of future family vacations to the beach, to amusement parks, to water parks, to wherever adventure takes us. But Megan and I have learned that the greatest way to show our kids how valuable they are to us is to take time for each other. Our marriage comes first. On this trip we laughed together. We held hands everywhere. We zip lined together. We rode bikes together. We over-ate together. We flirted. We dated. We shared. We talked. We shut the entire outside world off and spent the entire week together. I can’t overstate how wonderful it was being with just her. We already miss it.

I personally believe EVERY MARRIED COUPLE WITH KIDS should take some time and vacation together and leave the kids at home.

Don’t make excuses why you can’t go. Don’t blame it on money (go for a weekend and keep it inexpensive, or plan with another couple), don’t blame your job (the project can wait), don’t blame your kids (a happy marriage shows your kids that you love them), don’t blame time (decide what’s important to you and schedule a trip now!).

Your marriage matters more.

Use this time to:

  • Dream together
  • Laugh together
  • Plan together
  • Flirt together
  • Spice it up (you know what I mean)
  • Play together
  • Talk about everything
  • Hold hands everywhere you go

Malachi 2:14-15 – God, not you, made marriage. His Spirit inhabits even the smallest details of marriage. And what does he want from marriage? Children of God, that’s what. So guard the spirit of marriage within you. Don’t cheat on your spouse.

Leave a Reply

