More or Less

There’s an issue that I’ve noticed a lot of believers struggling with in finding the balance of “more or less.” Our tendency is to fall on either side of the extreme where we focus entirely on the “more” (God’s promises for me) OR the “less” (My sacrifice to Him).

Finding balance is a tricky thing. I’m a big fan of balance. I’m pretty terrible at math, but I do have a formula that I live by. (Terrible at math except with multiplication tables that I DOMINATED in the 3rd grade).

Anyways…

What works for me may not necessarily work for you, but here goes.

100 + 100 = 100

I give 100% to everything. I can’t give 50% to God, then give 25% to my church, 15% to my family, and so on. That doesn’t work for me. I just get confused trying to keep track of all the numbers. I give my everything. I give 100% to God, 100% to my family and 100% to my ministry.

This formula works for me not only in my efforts, but also in my focus.

The moment I start focusing entirely on ME, and increase ME, and God bless ME, and God give ME…is also the moment when the balance kicks in. My focus quickly transitions back to God I love YOU, God I need YOU, God I live for YOU, God I want to share YOU with the world.

I’m a big believer in God’s promises, however I’m a bigger believer in balancing those promises with a strong sense of stewardship and humility. I didn’t do a single thing to earn those, so bragging only makes me look like a prideful jerk.

My part is to show how much I appreciate all God has done by not being so focused on myself and sharing God through my life…my whole life. That’s balance. That’s something you can’t fake. You’re either balanced, or you’re not.

“Jesus replied: Love the Lord your God with all your heart and with all your soul and with all your mind.” — Matthew 22:37

One of my favorite songs “With Everything” (by Hillsong) opening verse:

Open our eyes,
To see the things
That make Your heart cry,
To be the church
The You would desire.
Your light to be seen.

Break down our pride,
And all the walls
We’ve built up inside,
Our earthly crowns
And all our desires,
We lay at your feet.

One thought on “More or Less

Leave a Reply

