This Just Blew My Mind

I’m preparing to rock a group of teenagers with some heavy duty Jesus Gospel in a week or so at camp and in my study time I came across a quote that blew my mind. I thought I would share it. It’s from CS Lewis in his book “The Weight of His Glory.”

Our Lord finds our desires not too strong but too weak. We’re half-hearted creatures, fooling around with drink and sex and ambition. When infinite joy is offered us, like an ignorant child who wants to go on making mud pies in a slum, because he cannot imagine what is meant by the offer of a holiday at the sea. We are too easily pleased.

Burn.

Jesus Christ forgives our sin and connects us to God almighty. Instead of choosing God we end up choosing the temporary garbage this world offers. Made me think, “What have I selfishly chosen to have in my life instead of God?” We’re too easily pleased.

Nothing comes close to the glory of God and the peace that comes only through Him.

Leave a Reply

