I Don’t Feel Like It

It really seems that EVERYTHING in this world, from culture to media, from marketing to lifestyle is screaming the message “if it feels good do it.” Live your life based on your feelings. If it feels good, do it. If it doesn’t feel good, don’t do it. Live by your emotions. The biggest problem with that is we end up being controlled by whatever mood we’re in. It honestly doesn’t take much to annoy us and trigger a mood swing…

  • Waiting more than 5 minutes in the drive thru
  • Getting called in to work on your day off
  • The dude in front of you has 25 items in the 15 items or less line at the grocery store
  • The puppy being a puppy
  • Noisy eaters
  • Drivers from Ohio who don’t get that the left lane is for passing (sorry it’s true) 🙂
  • Rude people
  • Skinny jeans on men

The truth is I don’t always feel like being nice to people. I have a hard time not laughing when people trip and fall. Sometimes I want people to serve me. Sometimes I don’t feel like talking about your problems. Sometimes I don’t feel like playing with my kids because I’m tired from a long hard day dealing with other people’s problems. Sometimes I don’t feel like praying or reading my bible.

Don’t judge. Neither do you.

I’ve discovered that when I don’t feel like it, that’s usually when I need to do it the most. The key is to persist in spite of how you feel. Stick to your commitment to God. Be faithful. Even when you don’t feel like it. That’s faith. Faith refuses to give up. Faith does the right thing, even when you’re tired and you don’t feel like it.

“Sure I am of this, that you have only to endure to conquer.”
Winston Churchill

Spiritually mature believers should live by their commitments, not by their emotions.

Be persistent, even when you don’t feel like it.

4 thoughts on “I Don’t Feel Like It

  1. I find that the most rewarding times are when I do something that I didn’t feel like doing. For instance, last Wednesday I knew I was supposed to pray for this man who was limping at Speedway. I didn’t feel like doing it because I was afraid, but I did it anyway. Since then I’ve prayed for two other people because God’s love is compelling me to do so.

  2. Hello. You probably don’t know me. That’s ok, because I don’t really know you. Heard you speak at Word of Life last year. It was good. So now I’m following you on twitter and your blog. I’m not a stalker, promise.

Leave a Reply

