Take the Shot

I’m sure this video will infuriate some of my UK basketball friends…but I’m ok with that. 🙂

A couple weeks ago in a church league basketball game, we were locked into a pretty tight and intense game against another local church. Our team only had 5 available players because of work schedules that night, and we had played our guts out overcoming a 7 point deficit to tie the game. There was less than 15 seconds on the clock and their team had just made only 1 out of 2 free throws to take a one point lead. I was standing at about the half court line when I received a pass with only 7 seconds left. I dribbled down floor and moved the ball to just in front of the foul line with a clear open shot with only 3 seconds left! Now here’s the part where it would be pretty sweet to say, “I took the final shot and SWISH! Nothing but net! We won!”

Only I can’t.

I didn’t take the shot.

I passed the ball.

In fact, I threw the ball away.

We lost.

Doh.

The reality is, you don’t always end up the hero. Sometimes you don’t win. I left that game feeling HORRIBLE. I had passed up a wide open shot and turned the ball over. Why didn’t I take the shot? I asked myself that question the whole ride home. I figured it out and I’ll tell you why. I had missed my previous 5 shots. I was ice cold out there and afraid I’d miss the potential game winner. So I passed. You can’t win if you don’t take the shot.

Lesson learned. Take the shot! What would you do for God today if you weren’t afraid to fail? If you knew you would win what would you do? When it comes to living your life, it’s not about the shots that are missed. It’s about the shots that are never taken. Step out in faith and trust God! If you take the shot and miss, so what. At least you took the shot.

Philippians 4:13 “For I can do everything through Christ, who gives me strength.”

Oh yeah, I redeemed myself this week by dropping 20 in our last game. 🙂

Leave a Reply

