Cell Phone Usage

I remember when iPhone first appeared on the scene. I had to have one. HAD TOO. Even though it was basically just a touch screen cell phone, with no apps and no facetime, I still had to have one. I did and we became inseparable. My wife was pretty annoyed that I was on my phone so much, until she got one herself. It’s addictive. Your connection to the entire world in a 4.5 inch device. Wow.

We figured out pretty quick that some ground rules needed to be initiated concerning our cell phone use. Here’s a couple of our basic rules:

  • No cell phones on dates. Calls and texts only to the sitters, and Megan’s Mom, who will only keep calling. šŸ™‚
  • No cell phones during our together time. (Kids in bed, TV time, etc.)
  • No cell phones during family time. (Game nights, movie nights, etc.)
  • No cell phones at dinner.
  • No cell phones at restaurants.

Seriously, turn the phone off for a bit and spend some quality time with your wife or family that doesn’t involve you checking the scores or your facebook page every 3 minutes! I’ll admit, it’s not so easy. Staying “connected” is a part of our culture now. Still, we need to learn how to “disconnect” in a healthy way. Giving your wife (spouse) and kids your undivided attention is a wonderful thing.

Hebrews 10:24
“And let us consider how we may spur one another on toward love and good deeds,”

Check out this graphic I found on cell phone usage.

One thought on “Cell Phone Usage

  1. My wife and I both have iPhones (even though she wouldn’t let me get one the first 3 years they were out…and insisted shed NEVER own one). It got to the point that we’d both be on them so much , Checking FB or Farmville so mch that I had to put my foot down. I deleted my FV and FB and it’s been quite refreshing. I spend some tome playing The Creeps! As I have since it first came out when I had a 1st Gen iPod Touch. But I no longer feel the need to check on high school friends that I don’t care about via FB.
    I agree on your “no phone” times. It’s important to stay focused on what matters most.

Leave a Reply

