Trying vs. Training

If at first you don’t succeed try and try again. You’ve probably heard that, maybe even said that after a failed attempt at something new. I have. In fact, I’ve tried all kinds of things…and bombed. Wondering what I’ve tried and failed at? Um, none of your business! 🙂

I had a thought reading in 1 Timothy the other day.

There are some things you just can’t do by trying. Some things require training.

1 Timothy 4:7-8
Have nothing to do with godless myths and old wives’ tales; rather, train yourself to be godly.  For physical training is of some value, but godliness has value for all things, holding promise for both the present life and the life to come.

If you’ve ever wondered why you can try so hard to see change, but end up bombing (like I do) at certain things over and over again, well here’s why. Sometimes simply trying harder doesn’t fix it. Sometimes you have to train to enable yourself to do things that trying never could. Discipline to train brings freedom.

Without the proper spiritual training, it’s almost as if you’re setting yourself up to fail. It’s like if I decide to play basketball tonight for the LA Lakers. They actually let me play, so I walk on the court ready to go and 2 trips down the court at an NBA pace I’m given oxygen and hauled off on a crash cart. (Hopefully to Pizza Hut.) You have to train yourself up spiritually in order to see certain changes in your life take place. That’s why we discipline ourselves to pray, to read God’s Word, to serve, to give, etc. Get it?

On a personal note, I’m attempting a simple change in my life. More specifically in my diet. No more Mt. Dew. Ok, that doesn’t sound realistic at this point, but I’m going to cut out 80% of the Mt. Dew that I drink. Less sugar, less caffeine, less feeling like garbage about 9p every night.

Leave a Reply

